On 22 September 2026, Durabook introduced the Z14I-DX3: a rugged laptop with three 14-inch displays, an Intel Core Ultra processor with an NPU and optional dedicated NVIDIA graphics. According to the manufacturer, the device is aimed at tasks where the situation picture, map material, video streams and measurement data must all be visible at once, for example in a command center, on drone missions or in field operations with local AI analysis. This article puts the new launch into perspective: what do the Durabook press release and specification page state, what remains open, and how does the DX3 differ from the single-display Durabook Z14I? RobustBook does not currently have a product page of its own for the Z14I-DX3. All information on the DX3 therefore comes from the manufacturer's sources; information on the Z14I comes from our product page and the associated datasheet.
The Z14I-DX3 has three touchscreens, each with a 14.0-inch diagonal and Full HD resolution (1920 × 1080 pixels). According to Durabook, brightness reaches up to 1200 Nits, in each case with DynaVue technology for readability in sunlight. The two additional displays stay attached to the device and fold inwards for transport; in use, they are opened out into one wide work area. According to the manufacturer, the device is moved between sites as a single, self-contained unit. If you would like to read up on the basics of brightness and anti-glare treatment, you will find them in the article Sunlight-Readable Displays: Nits, Anti-Glare, Polarizing Filters.
For operation, Durabook specifies capacitive multi-touch with three modes: finger/water, glove and pen. The additional displays have their own on-screen menus (OSD) for brightness and contrast. According to the press release, brightness can be synchronized across all displays or set individually. This is probably most useful in darkened rooms or vehicles, where not every surface should be equally bright.
The specification page lists four processors from the Intel Core Ultra family: Core Ultra 7 165U (up to 4.9 GHz), Core Ultra 7 155U (up to 4.8 GHz), Core Ultra 5 135U (up to 4.4 GHz) and Core Ultra 5 125U (up to 4.3 GHz). All four have 12 cores, 14 threads, 12 MB of cache and an integrated Intel AI Boost NPU. Intel graphics are fitted as standard. Optionally, Durabook offers a dedicated NVIDIA card: RTX A500, RTX 3500 Ada with 12 GB GDDR6 or RTX 5000 Ada with 16 GB GDDR6. The memory consists of two slots with 16 to 64 GB of DDR5 at 5600 MHz. The operating system is given as Windows 11 Pro 64-bit.
You should read the figure “682 TOPS” from the press release carefully. Durabook attributes it exclusively to the optional RTX 5000 Ada. For the overall system of GPU, NPU and CPU, the release says only that the performance is higher, without giving a number. The specification page lists no TOPS value for the NPU or for any of the graphics cards. For procurement, this means: the 682 TOPS apply only to the configuration with the largest graphics card, and comparisons with the NPU values of other laptops only make sense if the same measurement basis underlies them. Durabook does not state whether the DX3 meets the requirements of a Copilot+ PC. The article Copilot+ PC and NPU: what the new device class brings explains what distinguishes NPU, GPU and CPU and what TOPS actually tell you.
As examples of local tasks, the press release mentions real-time image recognition, sensor data fusion and video analysis. The idea behind it: data is processed where it originates, so that a team does not depend solely on cloud services. This matters above all where mobile coverage is patchy or data transmission is restricted for security reasons. Whether and which software actually uses this computing power depends on the applications in use, not on the device alone. For classifying the device class, the article What Is a Mobile Workstation? is a good starting point.
A 256 GB NVMe SSD is fitted as standard, with 512 GB, 1 TB or 2 TB optional, also as an OPAL 2.0 SSD. The device accepts two removable NVMe SSDs, which according to the press release can be swapped in seconds without tools. This is useful for operations with separate data storage, for example when recorded data is meant to leave the device on a drive. Via the media bay, a third SATA SSD, a second battery or a DVD drive can optionally be added; only one of these options can be fitted at a time.
The interfaces according to the specification page:
The wireless equipment includes Intel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 and Bluetooth 5.4. A GPS module (u-blox NEO-M9N), 4G LTE and 5G are available as options. For authentication, Durabook lists Intel vPro, Secured-core PC, TPM 2.0 and the smart card reader; options include Windows Hello via infrared camera, a fingerprint reader and an LF/HF RFID reader (NFC). For Thunderbolt 4 and its limits in the field, read Thunderbolt 4 on a Rugged Notebook: Benefits and Limits. Questions about the serial connection are covered by RS-232 in Practice: Connection, Pin Assignment, Troubleshooting.
For the DX3, Durabook specifies the test standards MIL-STD-810H and MIL-STD-461G. For MIL-STD-810H, the specification page lists the tests for shock, vibration, altitude, freeze-thaw cycling, high and low temperature, temperature shock, humidity, explosive atmosphere and solar radiation. MIL-STD-461G concerns electromagnetic compatibility: conducted and radiated emissions and immunity. The housing is made of a magnesium alloy and has port covers. The operating temperature range is −29 °C to 63 °C, the storage temperature is −51 °C to 71 °C, and the permissible humidity is 5 to 95 percent. The standard warranty is three years.
Not specified are an IP rating and a drop height. The specification page mentions only “port covers” as protection on the housing; no degree of protection against dust and water is quantified. The MIL-STD-810H list also includes a shock test but no drop test with a stated height. If you plan to use the device in rain or dust, you should ask the manufacturer about both before making a decision and have the answers confirmed in writing. On this page we do not add values that Durabook has not published. Background on the tests is provided by the article MIL-STD-810 Laptops and Tablets.
The Durabook Z14I is the single-piece 14-inch laptop of the same line. Only points that appear in our Z14I datasheet and in Durabook's DX3 sources are compared here.
According to these sources, the two devices share, among other things, Wi-Fi 7 with Bluetooth 5.4, two RJ45 ports, VGA, HDMI, a smart card reader, ExpressCard 54, the 41-pin pogo docking connector, a main battery of 6900 mAh, the standards MIL-STD-810H and MIL-STD-461G, and the operating temperature range of −29 °C to 63 °C. A comparison with further laptops is available in the laptop comparison table. The DX3 is not included there.
Durabook names as target sectors defense, public safety and emergency services, utilities and energy, field service and industry, maritime environments and outdoor infrastructure. The manufacturer's site cites no customer references or installations. The following scenarios are based on Durabook's descriptions and are an assessment, not field reports.
A device weighing 9.8 kg is not a solution for emergency personnel who carry their device on the body or operate it by hand. The DX3 is clearly intended for use at a fixed location, in a vehicle, in a tent, at a table, and is transported there as a single unit. For use in the hand or on a strap, smaller tablets are better suited.
Durabook states “up to 682 TOPS” only for the optional NVIDIA RTX 5000 Ada. The specification page gives no value for the NPU, the smaller graphics cards or the overall system.
This is not specified. Durabook publishes neither an IP rating nor a drop height. The device is listed with MIL-STD-810H and MIL-STD-461G; the manufacturer does not give details of the tests.
The DX3 has three displays instead of one and weighs 9.8 kg instead of 3.6 kg. In addition, the Z14I datasheet states IP66, whereas there is no IP rating for the DX3. The Z14I datasheet lists the NVIDIA RTX A500 as optional graphics, while for the DX3 Durabook lists three cards up to the RTX 5000 Ada.
RobustBook does not currently have a product page of its own for the DX3. In the press release and on the specification page, Durabook gives nothing on availability and configurations. Please direct questions about this to us via the contact form.
The Durabook Z14I-DX3 targets a narrow field of application: several applications visible at once, computing power for local AI analysis and serial interfaces at a rugged workstation that is transported as a single unit. The manufacturer's information on displays, processors, storage and interfaces is detailed. Still open are the IP rating, the drop height, the battery runtime, the TOPS values apart from the RTX 5000 Ada, and availability and configurations. If you are looking for a single-piece, lighter device with a stated ingress protection of IP66, the Durabook Z14I is the documented alternative. We will gladly help you choose between the two devices.