Specialist dealer · Lauchringen
Blog

MIL-STD-461F and 461G: EMC testing of rugged devices

MIL-STD-461 governs the electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) of equipment: how much interference a device emits and how much interference it can tolerate without making errors. The standard has nothing to do with drops, vibration, heat or moisture. That is covered by MIL-STD-810, and there are already articles on it: MIL-STD-810 for laptops and tablets, Laptops built to a military standard and Drop protection and test setup under MIL-STD-810. This article deals with 461 only.

Of the 45 datasheets on robustbook.bitblade.io, 18 name a 461 revision: 15 give revision G, three the older revision F. This article explains what the standard requires, what changed between F and G, and what stands behind the line “MIL-STD-461G” in a datasheet and what does not. It also shows a contradiction between two manufacturer versions of the same tablet. We read the standard texts ourselves: MIL-STD-461G of 11 December 2015 and MIL-STD-461F of 10 December 2007, both in the public version of the US Department of Defense.

What MIL-STD-461 covers

The standard is titled “Requirements for the Control of Electromagnetic Interference Characteristics of Subsystems and Equipment” and is an interface standard of the US Department of Defense (DoD). It sets requirements and test methods for electronic, electrical and electromechanical equipment that the DoD procures (Section 1.1). According to the standard, it fits best for enclosures up to the size of an equipment rack, for wiring harnesses between the enclosures and for power from a prime power source. It should not be applied directly to modules inside enclosures or to entire platforms. A tablet or laptop is therefore a typical test item; the standard calls it the EUT (equipment under test).

The reason is given in the foreword: the device should work within its tolerances in its intended electromagnetic environment. If you run a device in a vehicle or a tent next to radios and generators, you need both: the device must not disturb others, and others must not disturb it.

The designations follow a fixed scheme (Section 1.4). The first letter says where the interference travels: C for conducted, R for radiated. The second says in which direction: E for emission, the device sends out interference, S for susceptibility, the device is disturbed. CE102 is therefore a conducted emission, RS103 a susceptibility to a radiated field.

The test methods that datasheets mean most often

MIL-STD-461G lists 19 requirements in Table IV. Which of them apply to a device is decided by Table V according to the platform: land vehicle of the Army, Navy or Air Force, ship, submarine, aircraft, space. Each requirement is marked there as “applicable”, “limited” or “to be specified by the procuring activity”. Five methods come up most often for laptops and tablets.

MethodTitle in the standardScope in MIL-STD-461G
CE102Conducted Emissions, Radio Frequency Potentials, Power Leads10 kHz to 10 MHz, all power leads (Section 5.5.1)
CS114Conducted Susceptibility, Bulk Cable Injection10 kHz to 200 MHz, all interconnecting cables including power cables (5.12.1)
CS118Conducted Susceptibility, Personnel Borne Electrostatic DischargeEquipment with a man-machine interface; 8 kV contact discharge on conductive surfaces, 150 pF through 330 Ω (5.16)
RE102Radiated Emissions, Electric FieldLand vehicles 2 MHz to 18 GHz; ships, submarines, Army and Navy aircraft, space 10 kHz to 18 GHz (5.18.1)
RS103Radiated Susceptibility, Electric Field30 MHz to 18 GHz for all; 2 MHz to 30 MHz for Army and Navy, otherwise optional; 18 GHz to 40 GHz optional (5.21.1)

The two susceptibility tests CS114 and RS103 run with a pulse-modulated signal: 1 kHz, 50 percent duty cycle, at least 40 dB between on and off (Section 4.3.10.4.2). The device has passed if it shows no malfunction, no degradation of performance and no deviation from the specified indications, within the tolerances given in the specification of the individual device (for example 5.12.2). The tolerance is therefore set not by the standard but by the device specification. A datasheet does not state it.

461F and 461G: what changed

Revision G replaced F on 11 December 2015; F dates from 10 December 2007 and had replaced revision E of 20 August 1999. Comparing the two texts, three changes stand out.

What matters in practice: a device tested to F never had to pass CS118 and CS117, because they did not exist in F. Conversely, none of the 18 datasheets says whether a device stated as “461G” has actually been through these two tests. According to the standard, CS118 applies to equipment with a man-machine interface, and a tablet with a touchscreen belongs to that group. Whether the buyer requires it is again a question of tailoring, which the next section describes.

What stands behind “MIL-STD-461G” in the datasheet and what does not

The line in the datasheet is shorthand. The standard itself shows what it leaves out.

First, the standard is tailored for each procurement. The buyer may tighten, relax or drop requirements and has to record the adapted test methods in a test plan (EMITP); the result goes into the test report (EMITR). This is in Sections 1.2.2 and 4.3. A datasheet does not say which of the 19 requirements were tested with which limits and for which platform.

Second, the result applies to a particular configuration. According to Section 4.3.8.1, the hardware, software and firmware of the test item must be representative of production. Appendix A.4.1 states that the qualification status becomes uncertain after hardware or software changes. It then calls for either an analysis showing no substantive impact or a limited retest, usually with the approval of the buyer. According to Section 1.3, the appendix is not contractual; it explains how to interpret the standard. The Durabook R10 has 18 configuration groups; with a device like that, it is worth asking which configuration the test report covers.

Third, for Getac a footnote is attached to the statement. In all nine Getac manufacturer datasheets with a 461G statement that we reviewed (A140, B360 G3, F110, K120, T800, UX10, V110, V120, X600), the line “MIL-STD-461G certified” carries a note that the “MIL-STD-461 AC adapter” is sold separately. It is 90 W, and 230 W for the X600. The datasheets do not say whether the statement also holds with the standard power adapter. We read the footnote to mean that testing was done with the 461 adapter; that is not confirmed. For testing to MIL-STD-810H, the same datasheets name an independent test laboratory; for 461 they name none.

The contradiction for the Durabook R10

For the Durabook R10 there are two manufacturer datasheets of the same date (9 December 2025). The German version says “MIL-STD-461F-zertifiziert”, the English one “MIL-STD-461G certified”. Both list four test groups in brackets. Which statement is correct cannot be decided from the documents; we do not have a test report. On our pages the German datasheet follows the German version and the English datasheet the English one. If you buy the R10 with a 461 requirement, have Durabook confirm the revision in writing. For the Durabook R11 and the R11L, both language versions agree: 461F.

Stock devices with a 461 statement in the datasheet

The 461F statement is carried by the Durabook R10 (German datasheet), the R11 and the R11L. All other 15 datasheets name 461G. Six devices with the core data from the respective datasheet:

Device461 statementDisplayIP ratingWeightOperating temperature
Durabook R8MIL-STD-461G8.0 inchesIP660.86 kg-20 °C to 60 °C
Durabook R10MIL-STD-461F (German), MIL-STD-461G (English)10.1 inchesIP661.2 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Durabook R11MIL-STD-461F11.6 inchesIP661.2 kg-20 °C to 60 °C
RuggON Sol 7MIL-STD-461G12 inchesIP651.5 kg-20 °C to 60 °C
Getac V120MIL-STD-461G12.2 inchesIP662.1 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Getac X600MIL-STD-461G15.6 inchesIP664.41 kg-29 °C to 63 °C

Further devices with a 461G statement are the Durabook U11I and Z14I and the Getac models A140, B360 G3, F110 G7, K120, T800, UX10, V110 G7, X500 and X500 Server. The Getac X500 is a special case: its datasheet gives 461G together with MIL-STD-810G instead of 810H, and no manufacturer datasheet exists for this model; the statement comes from the laptop comparison table. According to the datasheet, the weight of the X600 depends on the configuration.

When the statement matters to you and when it does not

You need a 461 statement if the tender, specification or contract names it. The standard is a DoD procurement document and is adapted in such documents. The Military industry page describes typical uses and recommended devices; whether a device there carries the 461 statement is decided by its datasheet. If you only need a rugged device for a warehouse, a construction site or a workshop, IP rating and MIL-STD-810 are enough; the 461 line hardly influences the choice there.

If 461 is required, clarify four points before ordering:

The limits of this article: the datasheets it is based on contain neither a test report nor a list of the methods tested. If you are looking for a device for ships or aircraft, these documents contain no statement about the platform. That applies to all the devices named.

Frequently asked questions

Is MIL-STD-461 the same as MIL-STD-810?

No. 461 tests electromagnetic compatibility, 810 tests environmental conditions such as shock, vibration and temperature. The datasheets list both standards in one line, but they are tested separately.

Is 461G better than 461F?

G is the newer revision and, with CS117 and CS118, contains two more requirements than F, but CS106 is gone. Whether a particular device has passed the additional tests is not stated in the datasheets. If your specification calls for 461F, a device with a 461F statement is not a shortcoming.

Is “MIL-STD-461G certified” an official certificate?

The text of the standard names no certification body. It describes requirements, test methods and the test report. The statement in the datasheet is a statement by the manufacturer; the proof would be the test report.

Does the statement also hold with the standard power adapter?

For Getac the datasheet does not tell. It lists a separate “MIL-STD-461 AC adapter”, which is sold separately. Ask before ordering which adapter was used for testing.

Conclusion: who should ask for 461

If your specification calls for 461G, the Getac devices in the table, the Durabook R8 and the RuggON Sol 7 are a starting point, because their datasheets name revision G. If it calls for 461F, the Durabook R11 and the R11L name that revision in both language versions. For the Durabook R10 you should clarify the revision in writing beforehand. The line in the datasheet is not enough for tenders that fix the test report, the platform or the power adapter: then you need the manufacturer's documents. If you only want ruggedness, choose by IP rating and drop test and ignore 461.

If you want to know which device suits your tender, the RobustBook team will be happy to help you choose.