Specialist dealer · Lauchringen
Blog

Dell Pro Rugged and Latitude Rugged compared with Getac and Durabook

Anyone searching for “Dell Latitude Rugged” now ends up on pages of the “Dell Pro Rugged” line. This article sets the Dell figures next to Getac and Durabook. The Dell values come exclusively from pages on dell.com that we retrieved on 20.10.2026; the Getac and Durabook values come from our data sheets. RobustBook does not sell Dell devices. The comparison helps to place an existing Dell quote or to find a device with the same test values.

How the Latitude Rugged line became the Dell Pro Rugged line

Dell long sold its rugged devices as Latitude Rugged. On dell.com the situation on 20.10.2026 looks like this: the product page of the Latitude 7330 Rugged Extreme carries the note “Discontinued” and the sentence “This product is no longer available, but Dell offers similar products”. The category page for rugged laptops, on the other hand, lists the Dell Pro Rugged 14, the Dell Pro Rugged 13 and the tablets Dell Pro Rugged 10 and 12. None of these pages says whether Dell explicitly calls the Pro Rugged devices the successors of the Latitude Rugged devices. Dell's blog post of 06.10.2026 about the new laptops does not mention the Latitude line. Where the term “Toughbook” comes from and why buyers also use it for Dell devices is covered in the article Toughbook alternatives: Getac vs Durabook compared.

The Latitude series included the Latitude 5430 Rugged with a minimum weight of 1.97 kg, the Latitude 7330 Rugged Extreme with 2.32 kg and the Latitude 7230 Rugged Extreme Tablet. For the 7230, the Dell manual lists a 12-inch display with 1920 x 1200 pixels and 1200 Nits with touch glass, plus a weight of 1.26 kg to 1.59 kg depending on configuration. The IP ratings and MIL-STD tests of the Latitude devices were not on the retrieved pages, so we do not state them.

The current Dell devices according to the manufacturer

The table summarizes what Dell states on the retrieved pages for the four Pro Rugged models. “n/a” means the value was not on any retrieved page. The weights are minimum or starting weights. Alongside the new model numbers PR514260 and PR713260, Dell's category page still lists the older numbers RB14250 and RA13250.

ModelDisplayBrightness in nitsIP ratingDrop protectionWeight
Dell Pro Rugged 14 (PR514260)14 inches, 16:10up to 1100IP533 ftfrom 2.13 kg
Dell Pro Rugged 13 Extreme (PR713260)13.3 inches1400IP666 ftn/a
Dell Pro Rugged 12 Tablet (RA02260)12 inches1200IP664 ftfrom 1.31 kg
Dell Pro Rugged 10 Tablet (RA00260)10 inchesn/aIP664 ft2.29 lb

For both laptops Dell states MIL-STD-810H and a temperature range of -29 °C to 63 °C (-20 °F to 145 °F). According to Dell, the Pro Rugged 13 Extreme also has MIL-STD-461G and a HazLoc D1D2 certification for potentially explosive areas. For the Pro Rugged 14, Dell states neither. Dell describes the Pro Rugged 14 as semi-rugged and the 13 Extreme as fully rugged. For the tablets, Dell's blog of 07.10.2025 gives a range of -20 °F to 145 °F; it has no MIL-STD statement.

Further Dell data: both laptops have Wi-Fi 7, optional 5G and hot-swappable batteries, and run Intel Core Ultra Series 3 under Windows 11. The Pro Rugged 14 takes up to 64 GB of LPCAMM2, optionally with NVIDIA RTX PRO 500 Blackwell, and has a redesigned vehicle dock with quad passthrough. The 13 Extreme has up to 64 GB of LPDDR5x and integrated Intel Arc graphics. On the product page of the Pro Rugged 14, Dell also lists two Thunderbolt 4 ports, one serial port, HDMI 2.1 and RJ45. As a service option, the configurator offers ProSupport with onsite service after remote diagnosis.

Our stock devices in a data sheet comparison

From our range we picked six devices that match the Dell models in size and protection rating. The values come from the core data table of the respective data sheet on robustbook.bitblade.io, which is based on the manufacturer data sheets from Getac and Durabook (data sheets as of 08.08.2026).

DeviceDisplayBrightness in nitsIP ratingMIL-STDWeightOperating temperature
Getac B360 G313.3 inches1400IP66MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461G2.32 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Getac S410 G514 inches1000IP53MIL-STD-810H2.38 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Durabook S14I14.0 inches1200 (optional)IP53MIL-STD-810H2.37 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Getac UX1010.1 inches1000IP66MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461G1.15 kg (tablet without keyboard dock)-29 °C to 63 °C
Durabook R1010.1 inches1000IP66MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461F1.2 kg-29 °C to 63 °C
Durabook R1111.6 inches1000 (optional)IP66MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461F1.2 kg-20 °C to 60 °C

The data sheets list standard equipment and options. For brightness it is worth checking the configuration: the Durabook S14I reaches 1200 Nits only as an option, and the Durabook R11 also reaches 1000 Nits only as an option. The weight of the Getac UX10 applies to the tablet without keyboard dock. The laptops appear with further features in the laptop comparison table, the tablets in the tablet comparison table.

Laptops: the Pro Rugged 14 and 13 Extreme against Getac and Durabook models

14 inches with IP53: Pro Rugged 14, Durabook S14I and Getac S410 G5

All three devices have IP53 and MIL-STD-810H and state the temperature range -29 °C to 63 °C. What IP53 protects against compared with IP66 is explained in the article IP protection classes. With a starting weight of 2.13 kg, the Dell device is the lightest of the three. The S14I weighs 2.37 kg, the Getac S410 G5 2.38 kg.

For drop protection, Dell gives the Pro Rugged 14 a value of 3 ft. The S14I data sheet states drops from up to 1.2 m (4 ft). The S410 G5 data sheet has no drop value, so we do not compare it. For brightness, the S14I at an optional 1200 Nits is ahead of the Dell device at up to 1100 Nits and the S410 G5 at 1000 Nits.

For ports, the Pro Rugged 14 has a serial port. The S14I has an RS-232 port, optionally a second one; the S410 G5 lists none in its interface list. Anyone connecting machines or measuring instruments over a serial line should settle this before comparing brightness. The Dell device and the S14I both have two Thunderbolt 4 ports. For graphics, Dell offers an optional NVIDIA RTX PRO 500 Blackwell, the S410 G5 an optional NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 with 4 GB. For WLAN, the Dell device and the S14I have Wi-Fi 7, the S410 G5 Wi-Fi 6E.

13 inches with IP66: Pro Rugged 13 Extreme and Getac B360 G3

Here the stated values largely agree: IP66, MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461G, 1400 Nits and Wi-Fi 7. Dell states a drop test from 6 ft (1.8 m) for the 13 Extreme. According to its data sheet, the Getac B360 G3 is designed for drops from 1.80 m. Both take up to 64 GB of memory. The B360 G3 weighs 2.32 kg. No retrieved page gives a weight for the Dell device; the Latitude 7330 Rugged Extreme had the same minimum weight of 2.32 kg in the Dell manual.

One difference remains. Dell states a HazLoc D1D2 certification for potentially explosive areas for the 13 Extreme; our B360 G3 has no such statement in its data sheet. Anyone who needs Ex protection will find devices with Ex approval in our range; the overview is in the article ATEX and Ex protection. Whether the HazLoc certification is sufficient for the required zone or division is something to clarify with Dell before purchase. The retrieved pages give no class.

Tablets: Pro Rugged 10 and 12 against UX10, R10 and R11

For both Dell tablets, the blog of 07.10.2025 states IP66 and drops from 4 ft. Dell describes the screens as sunlight-readable, glove-friendly and usable in rain or snow. The blog gives no brightness value for this; the product page of the Pro Rugged 12 gives 1200 Nits. The Pro Rugged 12 weighs from 1.31 kg, the Pro Rugged 10 2.29 lb, which converts to about 1.04 kg. According to Dell, both have two hot-swappable batteries.

In our range, the UX10 with 10.1 inches and the Durabook R10 with 10.1 inches are in the class of the Pro Rugged 10, and the Durabook R11 with 11.6 inches sits between the two Dell sizes. All three have IP66 and MIL-STD-810H. The UX10 also states MIL-STD-461G, the R10 and R11 state MIL-STD-461F. The retrieved pages have no MIL-STD statement for the Dell tablets. Anyone who needs one should ask Dell.

For batteries, we have bridging solutions: the UX10 optionally has a bridge battery for hot-swap, the R10 an optional bridge battery with a swap time of 1 minute. For WLAN, the Pro Rugged 12 (Wi-Fi 7 BE201), the UX10 and the R10 have Wi-Fi 7, the R11 Wi-Fi 6E. Dell also writes that the Pro Rugged tablets remain compatible with older mounts, docks and accessories. That mainly concerns operations with an existing Dell fleet.

What the retrieved Dell pages do not document

Dell pages differ by region and configuration, and the data is spread across product page, blog and press release. That leaves gaps that we do not fill with estimates:

Even a complete data sheet comparison does not replace a test. Check a test unit with your mount, your dock, your scanner and your software. Warranty and service scope are in the manufacturers' terms and are not part of this comparison.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Latitude Rugged line the same as the Dell Pro Rugged line?

They are two product names. The Latitude 7330 Rugged Extreme is marked “Discontinued” on dell.com, while the Pro Rugged devices are listed as current models. Whether Dell sees one as the successor of the other is not stated on the retrieved pages.

Does RobustBook sell Dell devices?

No. Our range consists of devices from Getac, Durabook, Fieldbook, RuggON and Archos.

Which device in your range corresponds to the Dell Pro Rugged 14?

By protection rating and test standard, they are the Durabook S14I and the Getac S410 G5, both with IP53 and MIL-STD-810H. Both are heavier: 2.37 kg and 2.38 kg against a starting weight of 2.13 kg for the Dell device.

Which device corresponds to the Dell Pro Rugged 13 Extreme?

The Getac B360 G3 has the same stated test values: IP66, MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461G and 1400 Nits. Its data sheet does not state a HazLoc certification.

Conclusion: who should choose which device

The Dell Pro Rugged 14 suits operations with a Dell fleet that are looking for an IP53 device with a serial interface and a starting weight of 2.13 kg. Anyone who needs more brightness in this class compares the Durabook S14I at an optional 1200 Nits. As a fully rugged laptop with IP66 and 1400 Nits, the Getac B360 G3 is the counterpart to the Pro Rugged 13 Extreme. Anyone who needs the HazLoc D1D2 certification of the Dell device is not served by the B360 G3. Among the tablets, the UX10 and R10 are the counterparts to the Pro Rugged 10; the R11 sits between the two Dell sizes.

None of the six devices from our data sheets lists an Ex approval in its core data table; for that we have the ATEX models. For requirements that appear in no source, such as IP69K, this comparison has no basis. Clarify them with the respective manufacturer before purchase.

RobustBook supplies Getac, Durabook, Fieldbook, RuggON and Archos. If you want to put a Dell quote next to our devices, we will name the matching data sheets and check the configuration with you.