Specialist dealer · Lauchringen
Blog

Getac S410 G4 or G5: what changes between the generations

The Getac S410 comes in two generations that look alike on paper: the same 14-inch format, the same ingress protection, the same battery figures. Anyone who owns an S410 G4 or is offered one wants to know two things. What does the G5 do differently, and do the dock, battery and power adapter still fit? This article puts the manufacturer datasheet of the G4 next to the datasheet of the G5. The G4 datasheet comes from getac.com (generated on 11 March 2024; we cite the Internet Archive copy of 17 June 2024). The G5 values come from our datasheet page for the S410 G5. On accessories, neither source says that anything fits. That is stated openly below. You will find the current device with all configuration options on the product page Getac S410 G5.

The datasheets of the G4 and G5 side by side

The table reproduces what each datasheet states. “Same” means that the G5 datasheet gives the same value as the G4 datasheet. “Not listed” only means that the source does not mention the item, not that the device cannot do it.

FeatureGetac S410 G4Getac S410 G5
ProcessorIntel® Core™ i3-1115G4 (entry level); optional i5-1135G7, i5-1145G7 vPro®, i7-1165G7, i7-1185G7 vPro®Intel® Core™ i5-1340P (entry level); optional i5-1350P vPro®, i7-1360P, i7-1370P vPro®
Memory8 GB DDR4; optional 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB16 GB DDR5; optional 32 GB, 64 GB
SSD256 GB PCIe NVMe; optional 512 GB, 1 TB, 2 TBsame
Second storage in the multimedia bayoptional 256 GB, 512 GB or 1 TB SATA SSDnot listed
Display14 inch, HD (1366 x 768), 1000 nits; optional Full HD (1920 x 1080), optionally with touchsame
Wi-Fi and BluetoothWi-Fi 6 (Intel® AX201), Bluetooth 5.2Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3
SIMoptional single SIM slotdual SIM (Mini-SIM 2FF and e-SIM)
USB1 × USB 2.0, 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A1 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A, 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A
Other portsThunderbolt™ 4 Type-C, HDMI 2.0, LAN (RJ45), docking connectorsame
Battery10.8 V, typical 6900 mAh (minimum 6600 mAh)same
Weight2.38 kgsame
ProtectionIP53, MIL-STD-810Hsame
Operating temperature-29 °C to 63 °Csame

Sources: Getac, S410 G4 datasheet (German version, generated on 11 March 2024), and Getac, S410 G5 datasheet (status 22 July 2026, reproduced in our datasheet page).

Processor and memory: the biggest difference

The G4 uses 11th generation Intel processors. Getac lists the Core i3-1115G4 as the entry level and, one step above, the Core i5-1135G7 with up to 4.2 GHz. The G5 starts with the Core i5-1340P. Intel lists the i5-1340P as 13th generation (Raptor Lake) with 12 cores, of which 4 are performance cores and 8 are efficient cores, and 16 threads. According to Intel, the i5-1135G7 has 4 cores and 8 threads.

For memory, the type changes from DDR4 to DDR5, and the standard configuration grows from 8 GB to 16 GB. Intel gives a maximum of 64 GB for the i5-1135G7 and 96 GB for the i5-1340P, depending on memory type. Getac offers a maximum of 64 GB in both generations. The upper limit therefore does not change for you.

Intel vPro is available in both: in the G4 on the i5-1145G7 and the i7-1185G7, in the G5 on the i5-1350P and the i7-1370P. What vPro does for remote management is covered in the article Intel vPro in rugged devices. Whether the higher core count helps in daily use depends on the software. A specialist program that loads only one core does not automatically run much faster on the G5. We have no measured values for either device.

Ports and wireless: what is added and what is missing

The interfaces are similar. Both datasheets list Thunderbolt 4, HDMI 2.0, LAN (RJ45), a docking connector and two USB 3.2 Gen 2 ports. The four configurable I/O variants also appear in both: a serial port, plus VGA or DisplayPort, optionally with a second LAN or a PowerShare USB port. Anyone who needs the serial port will find it in both datasheets. The following differs:

A G5 can use the 6 GHz band of Wi-Fi 6E only on suitable access points. More on this is in the article Wi-Fi 6E and Wi-Fi 7 in industrial environments. Both generations have Thunderbolt 4, the background is in Thunderbolt 4 on the rugged laptop.

The G5 datasheet does not list PCMCIA Type II, ExpressCard 34 and 54, or the second storage in the multimedia bay, which the G4 datasheet names as options. Anyone who uses such modules should go through the configuration with us before switching. General information on bay modules is in Retrofitting expansion modules.

What stays the same: housing, battery and ingress protection

Both datasheets list 14 inch, 2.38 kg, IP53, MIL-STD-810H, 1000 nits and an operating temperature of -29 °C to 63 °C. The standard battery has 10.8 V and typically 6900 mAh (minimum 6600 mAh) in both, and both list a second battery as an option. What IP53 covers is explained in the article IP53 in detail. Anyone who needs more than IP53 will find no improvement over the G4 in the G5. Another device is then an option, for example the B360 G3 with IP66 (see below).

The G4 datasheet also states a drop resistance of 0.9 m. The G5 datasheet on our site does not list this value, so we do not compare it here.

Accessories: dock, battery and power adapter

The accessory lists of both datasheets use the same names: spare battery, multimedia bay battery, 90 W and 120 W power adapter, multi-bay chargers with two and eight bays, DC-DC vehicle adapter, carry bag, capacitive stylus, protection film, vehicle cradle, vehicle dock, office dock, 100 W Type-C adapter and the DS100 USB-C dock. The DS100 appears, however, only in the English version of the G4 datasheet. Identical names are no proof of identical parts. We have no statement from Getac that a dock, battery or power adapter of the G4 fits the G5, and neither datasheet makes one. We therefore do not state any compatibility.

On the battery: both datasheets give the same ratings for the standard battery. Identical ratings do not prove that the battery bay and contacts match. In the G4 datasheet the multimedia bay battery has 11.1 V and typically 4200 mAh (minimum 3980 mAh); the G5 datasheet gives no values for it. General information on swapping batteries during operation is in Replaceable batteries and hot swap.

On the power adapter: both datasheets list 90 W as standard and 120 W as an option. According to the G4 datasheet, the 120 W adapter is used for the office dock and for devices with a discrete graphics card. Whether an existing G4 power adapter fits the G5 is not stated by any source.

On the dock: both generations have a docking connector. The G4 datasheet describes the vehicle dock with one serial port each, VGA, HDMI 2.0 and LAN, four USB ports and antenna connectors for WWAN, WLAN and GPS. The office dock has one USB 3.0 and three USB 2.0 ports there. According to the datasheet, the Havis vehicle docks are e-mark certified. That a G5 can be connected to these docks is not stated in it. For docks in general, see Docking stations with HDMI, USB-C and Thunderbolt.

Anyone who wants to keep using existing accessories can only settle this through the manufacturer. Send us the part number of the existing part and the G5 configuration you want.

The S410 G5 next to the S510 and B360 G3

Anyone replacing a G4 usually looks at the G5 first. For context, three Getac laptops from our range are shown side by side here. The values come from the core data table of the respective datasheets.

LaptopDisplayProcessor (standard)Memory (standard)BrightnessIngress protectionWeight
Getac S410 G514 inch, HD (1366 x 768)Core™ i5-1340P16 GB DDR51000 nitsIP532.38 kg
Getac S51015.6 inch, Full HD (1920 x 1080)Core™ Ultra 5 125U16 GB DDR51000 nitsIP532.35 kg
Getac B360 G313.3 inch, Full HD (1920 x 1080)Core™ Ultra 5 225H16 GB DDR51400 nitsIP662.32 kg

The S510 has a larger display and a Core Ultra processor, the B360 G3 is smaller and brighter and has the higher ingress protection. All three list 16 GB DDR5 as standard. More laptops are in the laptop comparison table, devices for outdoor use on the page Outdoor laptops.

Frequently asked questions

Do the battery or power adapter of an S410 G4 also fit the G5?

That is not documented. Both datasheets give 10.8 V and typically 6900 mAh for the standard battery and 90 W for the power adapter. They make no statement about fit. Ask with the part number before you buy.

Does the G5 have more memory than the G4?

In the standard configuration, yes: 16 GB DDR5 instead of 8 GB DDR4. The maximum is 64 GB in both generations.

Does the G5 still have a serial port?

Yes. Both datasheets list four configurable I/O variants, each with a serial port. You choose the variant during configuration on the product page.

Is the G4 datasheet still available from Getac?

The PDF files were still on getac.com on 20 October 2026. The English file there, however, has a different file size from the archive copy of July 2024. Check important values against the current file.

Conclusion: keep or switch

The G5 is newer in the processor (13th instead of 11th generation), in memory (DDR5, 16 GB as standard), in Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, and in one USB port. Housing, ingress protection, weight and battery ratings are the same in both datasheets. You can keep a G4 as long as your software and network do not demand newer hardware and your stock of docks and batteries works. You should switch to the G5 when the processing power, memory or Wi-Fi of the G4 reaches its limits. Anyone who uses ExpressCard, PCMCIA or a second storage drive in the bay should check the configuration first. Anyone who needs more than IP53 is well served by neither. What remains open is whether G4 accessories fit the G5. Only Getac can answer that.

You will find all options of the current device on the product page Getac S410 G5. For questions about your existing equipment and the right configuration, the RobustBook team is happy to help.