Specialist dealer · Lauchringen
Blog

Samsung Galaxy Tab Active or rugged tablet: which one is enough

The Samsung Galaxy Tab Active is the series buyers often name first when they look for a rugged tablet. Samsung aims it at field service, warehouses and first responders and states IP68 and MIL-STD-810H. The question is fair: is that enough, or do you need a fully rugged tablet? This article puts the Samsung figures next to datasheet values from our range and shows where the answer changes. All Samsung information comes from samsung.com and was retrieved on 20 October 2026. We do not sell Samsung devices; the current manufacturer data for your configuration always takes precedence. How to weight protection class, display and battery for your own use is covered in How to find the perfect outdoor tablet. This article is about the brand comparison. An overview of all models is on the page Outdoor tablet. How tablets from Blackview, Oukitel and Ulefone compare with an industrial tablet is covered in the article Blackview, Oukitel, Ulefone or industrial tablet?

What Samsung states about the Active5 tablet

On samsung.com, Samsung lists the Galaxy Tab Active5 as the current model of the series; we found no page for a successor. It is an Android tablet with an 8 inch screen. The US datasheet and the UK product page give these values:

The predecessor Galaxy Tab Active4 Pro can also be found on samsung.com. It has 10.1 inch at 1920 x 1200 pixels, weighs 674 g and has a replaceable 7600 mAh battery (typical). Samsung gives IP68 and MIL-STD-810H; for this model the UK page also gives IPX5. According to that page, security updates are planned until 30 September 2027.

What the Samsung pages do not say

Neither the US datasheet nor the two UK product pages give an operating temperature. The datasheet speaks of heat and cold but gives no limits. We also found nothing there on MIL-STD-461, on approvals for explosive atmospheres or on vehicle mounts.

That is no statement about how well the device copes with cold. It only means that you have to ask Samsung or your supplier for the value before comparing it with other manufacturers. Samsung itself notes that real conditions of use differ from test conditions and that it does not guarantee performance under all extreme conditions. The same principle applies to every device: with MIL-STD-810H, what counts is which methods were tested and at which values.

Galaxy Tab Active next to five devices from our range

The table puts the Samsung figures next to core data from our datasheets. The first two rows reproduce the Samsung values. The battery figures are only partly comparable: Samsung gives mAh without voltage, while the datasheets of the other manufacturers give voltage and capacity.

Model Display Protection and test standard Operating temperature Weight Battery System
Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 (manufacturer data)8 inch, 1920 x 1200, 600 nitsIP68, MIL-STD-810Hnot stated433 g5050 mAh typical, replaceableAndroid 14
Samsung Galaxy Tab Active4 Pro (manufacturer data)10.1 inch, 1920 x 1200IP68, IPX5, MIL-STD-810Hnot stated674 g7600 mAh typical, replaceableAndroid
Getac ZX808 inch, 1920 x 1200, 1000 nitsIP67, MIL-STD-810H-29 °C to 63 °C590 g3.86 V, 4060 mAh typical; battery options up to 9980 mAhAndroid 15.0
Fieldbook N80G28 inch, 1280 x 800, 500 nitsIP67, MIL-STD not specified-20 °C to +60 °C600 g3.6 V, 8000 mAh, replaceable without toolsAndroid 12
Getac ZX10 G210.1 inch, 1920 x 1200, 1000 nitsIP66, MIL-STD-810H-29 °C to 63 °C906 g3.88 V, 4990 mAh; optional 9980 mAhAndroid 15.0
Fieldbook N101G210.1 inch, 1200 x 1920, 700 nitsIP65, MIL-STD-810H-20 °C to +60 °C1.14 kg3.8 V, 10000 mAh, replaceable without toolsAndroid 14
Durabook R88.0 inch, 1280 x 800, 800 nitsIP66, MIL-STD-810H, MIL-STD-461G-20 °C to 60 °C0.86 kg7.6 V, 3600 mAh, 8.5 h; optional 7200 mAh, 17 hWindows 11 Professional

The first thing the table shows: the Active5 is ahead on weight (433 g against 590 g for the ZX80) and on the digit for immersion (IP68 against IP67). On brightness it trails the ZX80 (600 against 1000 nits) but is above the Fieldbook N80G2 with 500 nits. The Active5 also runs Android 14 with four planned upgrades, while the N80G2 has Android 12. For the Getac and Fieldbook devices, our datasheets give no period for security updates. Ask about it before you order.

For drop height, Samsung gives 1.8 m with the case and 1.5 m without. The product pages of the ZX80 and ZX10 G2 give 1.80 m, those of the N80G2 and N101G2 give 1.2 m. Whether the Getac figure applies with or without a protective case is not stated on our pages.

Run times cannot be set against each other. Samsung gives up to 14 hours of internet use over Wi-Fi. Our Android datasheets give no run time; the Durabook R8 gives 8.5 hours with the standard battery. What a shift actually demands is shown only by a test with your application.

Where the Galaxy Tab Active is already enough

The tablet is enough when the place of use and the task match the datasheet. That applies to an 8 inch handheld for delivery notes and checklists, in a warehouse, in retail or in parcel delivery, in a moderate climate and mostly working indoors or in the shade. Samsung itself names delivery services, warehouses and law enforcement as fields of use and highlights glove mode, which according to the footnote works with most gloves and in wet conditions, but not with extremely heavy-duty gloves.

A second reason is management. If you already run your fleet with Samsung Knox, you can add the Active5 there, and Samsung gives security updates until 2029. How Android tablets can be managed in general is covered in Android Enterprise on rugged tablets.

The Active5 can also be ahead on water. IP68 tests immersion, at Samsung to 1.5 m for 30 minutes; our tablets give IP67 (ZX80, N80G2) or IP66 (ZX10 G2, R8). Water jets are a separate test: IP66 means protection against powerful water jets, and a device with IP68 has not automatically passed that test. For the Active4 Pro Samsung also gives IPX5; for the Active5 we did not find that on the pages we retrieved. If you want to hose the tablet down, ask about it. What the digits test in detail is explained in IP68 in detail.

Where a fully rugged tablet becomes necessary

Four situations shift the answer. All four can be tied to lines in the datasheet.

Cold, heat and sun

If you work in frost or in the heat of a vehicle, you need a value the manufacturer states. The Getac ZX80 and ZX10 G2 give -29 °C to 63 °C, the Fieldbook tablets and the Durabook R8 -20 °C to 60 °C. Samsung gives no range. In sunlight brightness counts: 1000 nits on the ZX80 and ZX10 G2 compare with 600 nits on the Active5. The Fieldbook N80G2 is below that with 500 nits and is no improvement on this point.

Vehicle, dock and interfaces

In a vehicle the accessories decide. For the ZX80 the product page lists a vehicle mount, a vehicle docking station and a DC-DC adapter for 11 to 32 V DC. According to its datasheet the N101G2 has an RJ45 LAN port and a pogo connector for docking stations, and the Durabook R8 optionally has one or two RS-232 ports and RJ45 Ethernet. The Active5 has USB-C with USB 2.0, a pogo connector, a headphone jack and a microSD slot. As accessories Samsung names a pogo charging dock and a cradle; the pages we retrieved do not mention vehicle mounts. If you need a dock in the vehicle, a serial port or LAN, check this list before choosing the type.

Approvals and standards

For the ZX80 the datasheet gives ANSI/UL 121201 and CSA C22.2 No. 213 (Class I, Division 2) as an option. The Durabook R8 is also tested to MIL-STD-461G, the standard for electromagnetic compatibility. We found no statement from Samsung on either. If your operator requires a hazardous-location approval or an EMC test, the Samsung page is no basis as long as Samsung does not document it.

Windows instead of Android

If your specialist application runs only on Windows, no Android tablet helps, not even a rugged one. The Durabook R8 has the same 8 inch form factor with Windows 11 Professional, weighs 0.86 kg and reaches IP66. Whether Android or Windows suits the application is covered in Windows or Android on the rugged tablet.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Galaxy Tab Active a fully fledged rugged tablet?

By its test marks, yes: Samsung gives IP68 and MIL-STD-810H, the same kinds of information as our datasheets. The differences lie in individual values such as operating temperature, brightness, accessories and approvals. Whether the Active5 is rugged enough for you is decided by these lines in relation to your use.

Is there a Galaxy Tab Active6?

On samsung.com we found no page for an Active6 on 20 October 2026. The Active5 is the model Samsung lists there. Before a purchase, check what Samsung lists at that time.

Which of your tablets is most like the Active5?

The Getac ZX80: same display size (8 inch) and resolution (1920 x 1200), Android, MIL-STD-810H and replaceable batteries. It has 1000 instead of 600 nits, IP67 instead of IP68, 590 g instead of 433 g and a documented temperature range. At 10 inch the Getac ZX10 G2 is the counterpart to the Active4 Pro.

Does RobustBook sell Samsung tablets?

No. Our range consists of Getac, Durabook, Fieldbook, RuggON and Archos. The Samsung information in this article comes from samsung.com.

Conclusion: who can stay with the Galaxy Tab Active

The Galaxy Tab Active5 is enough if you want a light 8 inch Android tablet for a moderate climate, already use Samsung Knox and value security updates until 2029. You move to the Getac ZX80 if the device has to work in cold down to -29 °C, with 1000 nits of brightness, with a vehicle dock or in a Class I Division 2 environment. The ZX10 G2 is the 10 inch counterpart. The Fieldbook N101G2 brings LAN and a 10000 mAh battery at 1.14 kg, but has only 700 nits and IP65. You choose the Durabook R8 if the application requires Windows. What remains open is what no table settles: the temperature range of the Active5, the run time of a shift under load and whether your application runs on the target system. None of the five datasheets gives a CAN bus port either; if you need one, you are looking in another device class. Check the open points with a device in your hand.

The RobustBook team helps with the selection and names the configuration that suits your use.